

75th Annual Red Grant Regatta

July 16 - 18, 2021 RARITAN YACHT CLUB, 160 Water St., Perth Amboy, NJ 08861

1. RULES: The regatta will be governed by the rules as defined in The Racing Rules of Sailing (RRS).

2. ELIGIBILITY AND ENTRY:

- 2.1. The regatta is open to the following classes of boats
 - 2.1.1. Performance Handicap Rating Formula Mid Atlantic (PHRF-MA) with current certificates racing with spinnaker or non-spinnaker.
 - 2.1.2. One-design (OD) classes with current certificates.
 - 2.1.3. Cruising boats defined as boats that do not race often, desire a fun race, want to use government marks as a race course and have not optimized their boats to any rating rules.
 - 2.1.3.1. A handicap number will be applied to Navigator boats by the OA (organizing authority).
 - 2.1.3.2. The handicap number assigned cannot be a cause for redress.
 - 2.2 A minimum of 5 boats is needed for an OD design start.
 - 2.3 There is a limit of 30 boats for RC Laser fleeting.

2.4 Advanced registration available for PHRF-MA, OD and Cruising boats at the Yacht Scoring link https://yachtscoring.com/emenu.cfm?eid=14333

3. FEES:

- 3.1. Entry fee for PHRF-MA and OD boats based more than 30 nautical miles from Raritan Yacht Club (RYC) is \$75
- 3.2. Entry fee for PHRF- MA and OD boats based less than 30 nautical miles from RYC is \$125.
- 3.3. Cruising boats fee is \$50

4. SCHEDULE:

- 4.1. Advanced registration will open on March 1, 2021
- 4.2. Friday July 16, 2021
 - 4.2.1. 1700-2000: PHRF-MA and OD final registration and skipper bag distribution.
 - 4.2.2. 2030: PHRF-MA and OD class splits and Sailing Instructions will be posted on Yacht Scoring

4.3. Saturday July 17, 2021

- 4.3.1. 1100: PHRF-MA and OD Harbor Gun from RYC and broadcast on VHF
- 4.3.2. 1100 1130: Cruising class skippers meeting.
- 4.3.3. 1200: PHRF-MA and OD first warning signal.
- 4.3.4. 1200: Cruising class first warning signal.
- 4.3.5. 1700: (approx.) Buffet dinner and live music on the deck or in the Yard if Covid restrictions lift 4.4. Sunday July 18, 2021
 - 4.4.1. 1100: PHRF-MA and OD Harbor Gun from RYC and broadcast on VHF
 - 4.4.2. 1200: PHRF-MA and OD first warning signal.
 - 4.4.3. 1500: No starts after 1500 for PHRF-MA and OD fleets.
 - 4.4.4. 1600: (approx.) After sailing, BBQ on the deck and awards for all fleets.

5. VENUE:

- 5.1. Cruisers' race will occur on the Eastern waters of Raritan Bay starting in the area East of the RYC mooring field.
- 5.2. The PHRF-MA and OD racing will occur on eastern waters of Raritan Bay starting area will be East of Great Beds light.

6. COURSES:

- **6.1.** Cruisers boats will use government marks on Raritan Bay's waters as outlined in the Mark Description and Location document located on RYC.org (<u>https://www.ryc.org/files/Race%20-%20Marks%20Description%20and%20Location.pdf</u>)
- **6.2.** The PHRF-MA and OD will be windward/leeward course using drop marks, which may or may not include offset marks and or leeward gates.

7. SCORING:

- **7.1.** One race is required to constitute a series for all classes.
- **7.2.** Appendix A4 will be used for scoring Cruisers, PHRF-MA and OD classes.
- 7.3. Scores will be the total her race scores for the Cruisers, PHRF-MA and OD classes.
- **8. SUPPORT BOATS:** Support boats are not permitted from the time the boat leaves her mooring or dock until racing is completed for the day.

9. LAUNCHING and BERTHING:

- **9.1.** RYC's hoist will be available for launching and hauling.
- **9.2.** Hoist access may not be usable during low tide.
- **9.3.** For free mooring reservations contact Sandy Gray (information below) no later than July 9 Guest Moorings are limited and will be assigned on a first come, first served basis.
- **10. HAUL-OUT RESTRICTIONS:** PHRF-MA and OD classes shall not be hauled out during the regatta except with and according to the written terms of the race committee.
- **11. DIVING EQUIPMENT AND PLASTIC POOLS:** PHRF-MA and OD classes shall not use underwater breathing apparatus and plastic pools or their equivalent around keelboats between the warning signal of the first race and the end of the regatta.

12. RADIO COMMUNICATIONS

- **12.1.** Except in an emergency, a boat that is racing shall not make voice or data transmissions and shall not receive voice or data communication that is not available to all boats.
- **12.2.** Cruising, PHRF-MA and OD classes will have a VHF that can send and receive on all standard marine channels.
- **13. PRIZES:** Awards will be given for the top three finishers in each class following racing on Sunday after racing.
- **14. DISCLAIMER OF LIABILITY:** Competitors participate in the regatta entirely at their own risk. See RRS 3, Decision to Race. The organizing authority will not accept any liability for material damage or personal injury or death sustained in conjunction with or prior to, during, or after the regatta.
- **15. INSURANCE:** Each boat shall hold adequate insurance, including third-party liability insurance. It is the owner's or owners' representative's sole and inescapable responsibility to ensure that the coverage is in place and is adequate before participating in this event.

16. FURTHER INFORMATION:

Forms and registration at <u>https://yachtscoring.com/emenu.cfm?eid=14333</u> Other information on PHRF, OD, and Cruisers Classes: Sandy Gray - 908.313.7071 <u>Sandy@jgalt.com</u>

<u>Perpetual Trophy List</u>



Adolph "Red" Grant Trophy – Awarded to the overall winner in the most competitive PHRF

Class. This trophy, awarded annually honors our regatta founder Adolph "Red" Grant. Red was an avid Raritan YC Comet Sailor, who gave his life in defense of our country during the Second World War. *Calculation: Awarded to the winner of the fleet with the lowest total delta between the final corrected times of the top 3 boats in each fleet of each race.*

<u>Joseph W. Neiner Memorial Award</u> - Awarded to best performance in a one design class in the Junior Regatta. The award honors Past Commodore, Joseph W. Neiner and is being presented for the 19th year.

The Arthur Zucker Memorial Trophy - Awarded to the winner of the largest one Design Class. The award is presented for the 26th year, honors the regatta's founder, PC Arthur Zucker.

<u>The Tony Leitner Sportsmanship Award</u> -Presented by nomination to the competitor or volunteer that best displays the aspects of sportsmanship over the duration of the regatta. This trophy, presented for the 18th year, honors PC Anthony "Doc" Leitner who has been involved with Red Grant since its inception.

<u>The Mayor's Cup</u> – Awarded to the top cruising sailor of Saturday's "Cruising for a Cause" race.

This trophy, presented for the 18th year, shares in the community spirit of the Red Grant Regatta. This trophy will be awarded by Perth Amboy's Mayor, Helman Caba.